For over a year and a half Historian Chuck Oldenburg has been writing the semi-monthly vignettes about Mill Valley history for the members of the Mill Valley Historical Society.
A VIGNETTE presents historical facts with clarity and accuracy. Descriptions are brief and usually accompanied by a photo. The learning experience should take only about one or two minutes. The February 5th Vignette is titled Camp Tamalpais.
“In 1904, a few of the first folks to buy lots in Homestead Valley occasionally camped out. In 1906, many earthquake refugees became tent campers until they could build a house. In 1908, a developer had a different idea…”
READ THE WHOLE POST HERE
Until 1931, the route south on the Redwood Highway (now 101) from north Marin through Mill Valley to San Francisco was as follows: at the Alto Wye, right onto Blithedale; left on Camino Alto; through the Tam High campus to Almonte Blvd; Highway 1 from Dolan’s Corner to Manzanita and on to the Sausalito ferry. Pedestrian ferries went to the Ferry Building. READ MORE…
Read other short but interesting vignettes of Mill Valley history on our Vignettes page.